أغراض متنوّعة محيطكِ: Cabin at Longbranch

يمثل المنزل، بصفته مكاناً وفكرةً، حالة من التحوّل المستمر. بالنسبة للمهندس المعماري الشهير Jim Olson، كان منزله في Cabin at Longbranch عملاً قيد التطوير منذ البداية.

كانت قطعة الأرض التي بُني عليها الكوخ، والتي تتوسّط أشجار الشوح على Puget Sound في واشنطن، في الأصل المنزل الريفي الصيفي لجدّيه – والذي كان عبارة عن كوخٍ صغير بُني بطريقة تأخذ في عين الاعتبار المناظر الطبيعية الموجودة أسفله وتحترمها. قضى Olsen الطفل العطلات الصيفية وعطلات نهاية الأسبوع في زيارة ذلك الكوخ. وبعد ذلك، عندما كان طالب هندسة معمارية في السنة الأولى، قام بتصميم وبناء منزلٍ بطابقين مساحته 14 قدماً مربعاً في الغابة – وهو أول إنجاز معماري له.

في ستينيات القرن الماضي، دمّرت الحرائق كوخ جدّيه؛ وكانت غرفة مبيت العمال كل ما تبقى منه. تطورت أعمال التجديد اللاحقة التي أُجريت على مر السنين في أعوام 1981 و1997 و2003 و2014 على مساحة 14 قدماً مربعاً صغيرة إلى وضعها الاستثنائي الحالي. حيث أن كل توسّع جديد كان يعيد استخدام البنية السابقة ويندمج معها بدلاً من محوها، مع التركيز على تطوير وتوسيع المسكن بدلاً من محاولة إخفائه.

إن تعريف المنزل والتجارب التي نعيشها داخله يتطور في تناغم مع سكّانه. قام Olsen بتصميم كل إضافة إلى ذلك الكوخ استجابةً لأولوياته المتغيرة الخاصة – في البداية كان بيتاً لاستضافة الأصدقاء، ثم أصبح ملاذاً للتجارب في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع لزوجين شابين وعائلة. والآن، هو مكانٌ هادئ للتأمل والعمل الإبداعي، ومكانٌ مريح ومناسبٌ لزيارة الأحفاد والأسرة الموسّعة والأصدقاء. يمكنكِ الاطّلاع على هذا الكوخ الرائع من خلال الصور الموجودة أدناه.

"ا شيء يجسّد المأوى – أحد الضروريات الثلاث الأساسية للحياة – أفضل من منزل المرء. فالمنزل هو معيار كل فنون العمارة. وإذا صُمِّم بطريقة مدروسة، فقد يصبح ملاذاً ومكاناً نبني فيه الذكريات الجميلة والعائلة والتقاليد"
 
separator

Our Logo
Objects Surroundings: Cabin at Longbranch

Home, as both a place and an idea, represents a continuous state of transformation. For renowned architect Jim Olson, home at the Cabin at Longbranch has been a work in progress since the very beginning.

The cabin’s peaceful plot, tucked amidst the fir trees on Puget Sound in Washington, was originally home to his grandparent’s summer cottage – a tiny stilted cabin that respected the landscape beneath. Olsen spent the summers and weekends visiting as a child. Then, as a first-year architecture student, he designed and constructed a 14-square-foot bunk house in the forest – his first architectural achievement.

In the 1960s, fire destroyed his grandparent’s cottage; the bunkhouse was all that remained. Subsequent remodels over the years in 1981, 1997, 2003 and 2014 evolved the small 14-square-feet into its current extraordinary state. Each successive expansion reused and integrated the previous structure rather than erase it, emphasizing the evolution and expansion of the dwelling rather than trying to conceal it.

The definition of a home and the experiences within it, evolve in tune with its occupants. Olsen designed each addition to the cabin in response to his own changing priorities – first a bunkhouse for friends, then an experimental weekend retreat for a young couple and family, and now, a quiet place for contemplation and creative work, and a comfortable place for visiting grandchildren, extended family, and friends. Take a tour of the cabin below.

"“Shelter—one of the three essentials necessary for life—is no better embodied than in one’s own home. It is the touchstone of all architecture. Thoughtfully conceived, it can be a place of refuge, memory, family and tradition.”

– Olson Kundig Architects"
 

Subscribe

Hey there, Let us know if we should put you on the list. Leave your email and we’ll get back to you when we have something special to share.
No spam, we promise.